Stressful running week!

With my next half marathon rapidly approaching, I have decided to up my game and start strength training.  So my day begins at 5:00 a.m. with a steady run in the extreme heat and humidity.  Meet with my personal trainer on my lunch break at work everyday for his crazy form of torture.  Lets make something clear, I love running!  Love the feeling I get just being outside and hitting the road, however me and free weights are NOT friends!

I am already feeling some changes in my body and it appears to be helping my running game.  This is my 5th week of lifting and it seems like the soreness I get in my hips from long runs is better and knees aren’t bothering me.  Basically feeling over all stronger body and mind.

Tomorrow is measurement day and I am hoping for good results.  Normally when I start training seriously for a race, I drop some weight, unfortunately I am just maintaining.  Trying to stay positive that I am losing some inches!

To be continued:

Leave a comment